Axel Rudi Pell - Diamonds Unlocked

Release date: 28.09.2007

For over 25 years, Axel Rudi Pell has counted as one of Germany’s most versatile guitarists. With over a dozen studio albums, he has a record of brilliant productions, loved by his fans and greeted with respect and praise by the press. Alongside numerous original compositions, cover versions of his favourite songs have always taken a special place in his work. The musician from Wattenscheid, Germany, has not only covered the work of his own idols, such as Deep Purple and Rainbow, but also numbers by acts such as Alphaville, Free, Jimi Hendrix and Uriah Heep. Now Pell is scheduled to release Diamonds Unlocked on October 1, 2007 (Germany: September 28), his first album consisting exclusively of compositions by other musicians, proving his expertise when it comes to the history of rock and pop music. Axel Rudi Pell has recorded ten cover songs, among them surprising new versions of real classics. “I have always stressed that I don’t have a hard rock and metal fixation,” he points out. “I don’t think in terms of pigeonholes. If I like a track for whatever reason, I don’t care about its stylistic direction. Every song on this album made me want to cover it at some stage when I heard the original.”

01. The Diamond Overture
02. Warrior (original by Riot)
03. Beautiful Day (original by U2)
04. Stone (original by Chris Rea/The Law)
05. Love Gun (original by Kiss)
06. Fools Game (original by Michael Bolton)
07. Heartbreaker (original by Free)
08. Rock The Nation (original by Montrose)
09. In The Air Tonight (original by Phil Collins)
10. Like A Child Again (original by The Mission)
11. Won't Get Fooled Again (original by The Who)

Pressing Information

- standard CD in jewel case

More releases